Smaller Default Larger

This award is made in the name of Owen F. Thomas, M.D. who was a member of the first California Medical Association Commission on Blood Banks and the second President of CBBS. He gave a lifetime of service to blood banking in the Sonoma County Community Blood Bank, and was an active member of CBBS from 1953 until his death in 1977. He planned the first CBBS Technical Workshop at the third Annual Meeting on February 27, 1955, in Santa Rosa, California. Dr. Thomas was also in charge of the first commercial exhibit in 1958.


Carol BellCarol A. Bell, MD
is being honored as the 2014 recipient of the Owen F. Thomas, MD Award

Carol A. Bell, MD became an active member of CBBS in 1967 as she finished her residency. She has served on several committees including Chair of the Program Committee and the Scientific Advisory Committee, the Board of Directors, and as CBBS President in 1978. More recently she has been member and Chair of the Emergency Preparedness Committee. Over the years she has given many lectures at CBBS regional and annual meetings. She received the Upton- Hemphill award in 1979.

She received her undergraduate degree in Pharmacy from UC Berkeley followed by medical school at UCSF. She interned in Hawaii, beginning her pathology residency there, moved to the Massachusetts General, finishing her residency in 1967 at Cedars of Lebanon Hospital in Los Angeles. She then became Associate Director of Clinical Laboratories and director of Blood Bank for 5 years before becoming Associate Professor of Pathology and Associate Director of Laboratories at UCI.

In 1973 she became Director of Clinical Laboratories at Brotman Medical Center for 27 years and developed an active transfusion service. She remained Clinical Professor of Pathology, UCI and at USC lecturing on transfusion medicine to residents, medical students and nursing.

She served the American Red Cross Los Angeles on several committees including Medical Advisory Committee Chair, the Blood Operations Committee and Regional Board of directors also as Chair. She was on several committees for the AABB and was editor of the Pre-convention Seminar syllabus for 5 years. She has served on ASCP committees as well as several State committees developing standards and testing for medical technologists. She has contributed chapters on AIHA and test methods to several textbooks and published more than 50 papers.